This week the new government has kept up progress with the new Tax Working Group being announced and IRD delivering the Briefing to the Incoming Minister (BIM).

The BIM is a document provided when there is a change to the Minister of Revenue, and provides a snap-shot of the tax system, it’s strengths, how it compares internationally and future challenges. It also highlights key issues and decisions required in the first 100 days, which includes tax policy changes which were being worked on under the Tax Policy Work Programme, as well as incorporating the new Governments priorities. As such the BIM is a useful insight into changes likely to be coming up.

One of the items noted was establishing the Tax Working Group, and the members of this has now been released. Along with chair Sir Michael Cullen, the Working Group members being appointed are:

  • Professor Craig Elliffe, University of Auckland
  • Joanne Hodge, former tax partner at Bell Gully
  • Kirk Hope, Chief Executive of Business New Zealand
  • Nick Malarao, senior partner at Meredith Connell
  • Geof Nightingale, partner at PwC New Zealand
  • Robin Oliver, former Deputy Commissioner at Inland Revenue
  • Hinerangi Raumati, Chair of Parininihi ki Waitotara Inc
  • Michelle Redington, Head of Group Taxation and Insurance at Air New Zealand
  • Bill Rosenberg, Economist and Director of Policy at the CTU
  • Marjan Van Den Belt, Assistant Vice Chancellor (Sustainability) at Victoria University of Wellington

The group, which represents a diverse range of people, will have the challenge to look at the structure, fairness and balance of the tax system, and will meet towards the end of January 2018. I’m sure we will all be waiting to hear what direction they take.

From all of the Tax Team at Polson Higgs, we hope you have a warm and relaxing time over Christmas. Thank-you for your interest in our Blog for 2017, and will see you again in 2018.